“There are three things you will need to become a successful announcer. Talent, perseverance, and preparation.”

These are the words my professor told my fellow Communication comrades and I as we prepared to dive into the second semester of the school year. Not that I’m really interested in becoming an announcer of any sort but the list he gave us- talent, perseverance, and preparation- something about those attributes in that particular order stood out to me, especially the first part.

All of us want to be successful, no? We want to do something, create something and be someone who is remembered for the rest of their lives. We want to change the world and impact others in a positive way.

It’s a known fact that in order to be majorly successful in anything you need to have some perseverance to continue at that thing for a while and you have to prepare yourself for any obstacle that may cross your path, but do you really need a talent in something to be successfulย at it? This, my dear friend, is where I was torn.

talents-2I don’t think I have any extraordinary talent that I can attribute my “success” too, but as I pondered on the meaning of the statement for a while, I realize the two sides I thought I was leaning towards is actually one. You see, for some time I thought that in that list-talent, perseverance, and preparation– the talent part was supposed to be something you naturally inherit. You’re naturally good at it. Practice, preparation, perseverance? Bah, who needs that when you have a gift for something? Those were my very poor, uneducated thoughts about talent when I first heard this statement.hardwork5 For some unknown reason, I thought that talent worked as a free pass into success. You’re talented at singing? Oh, well here’s your free pass to being a famous artist! But nope, that’s not how it works. Even with talent one needs to be able to put in the time and effort to mold that gift and turn it into something beautiful- something phenomonal and special.

hard-workIf we are good at something but don’t contribute the time necessary to hone the gift, we are worse than the person who was untalented from the start. See, the person who lacks the talent is more willing to put in more effort and time to see themselves prosper and grow in that area. They value the art more than the person who can easily learn it.

In reality however, hard work is part of the talent that everyone needs too learn to cultivate. You know what really sucks about that fact for me? It’s so tedious! I don’t want to sit down for hours, weeks, months, years, or decades doing one particular thing to be good at it! I want the results to happen immediately. Who doesn’t? But that’s not how it works. We actually have to put for effort (I’m talking about a ton off effort) to get the results we desire for ourselves. The sad reality is sometimes we may never get to attain that goal, at least not in the way we imagined, but we can’t give up.

hard-work2hard-work-4Success has a ton of variables in it, and our definition is one of them. If we keep at the thing we love, one way or another we will become successful at it. We may not be famous for it or well-known because of it, but we are bound to see some sort satisfactory result from it.

As I sat there and pondered on these facts…and after reading the required chapter in the textbook, I came to a conclusion that while I may not be aiming to be an announcer, I might as well practice and see if I have some talent in that particular line of work because, well, who knows? I may have a secret talent somewhere that may just prove to be useful.

Anyways, this rant really brings me to one conclusion- hard work is key to anything. If one doesn’t have talent but is a hard worker, he’ll go somewhere in his lifetime and if one has talent and works hard, well, he’s set for life.

I’m determined to make something out of my life, what about you? Whatever it is, I’m sure you can do it if you haveย talent, perseverance, and you take the time to prep yourself. Don’t forget, hard work counts for something too! ๐Ÿ™‚

์—ด์‹ฌํžˆ ์ผํ•˜๊ณ  ์žฌ๋Šฅ์„ ์ฐพ์์‹ญ์‹œ์˜ค! ย ๐Ÿ˜€

**Gifs found from Google Images**

