“Good things come to those who wait.”

Those words man.

Anyone else heard those words before?

15431586Here’s my problem with that quote- patience alone doesn’t put food on the table. Patience alone doesn’t give you a job. Patience alone doesn’t give you a secure future.

So the real question is, when are you suppose to know when to stop waiting? You know,  take initiative, shake things up?

I don’t really like making a big deal about things in front of people and starting an argument on small things and whatnot-the most effective way for me to express my thoughts is to jot it down… like this. SO, forgive me ahead of time,  but this post may just be another one of my rambles to get this annoyed, irritation that I’m dealing with off my chest.

tumblr_ngvgsdlakw1tq4of6o1_500

Well, the other day…

I was chatting with one of my friends that I haven’t spoken to in a while. We were doing the usual things. You know, catching up on things and finding out how life was treating the other…the normal small talk goodies. Anyhoo, the conversation somehow got sifted to the up and coming future. (If you guys haven’t notice yet, that’s kind of a recent theme I’ve been talking about lately. It’s only because it’s around the time for me to start making plans for my soon-to-be future.) These kinds of conversations tend to be my favorite because I like having a plan for what I’m going to do with my life before I approach a corner; I like seeing how those I care about are taking measure to secure their future also.

So I asked my friend what he wanted to do with his life after he graduated and you can imagine my utter shock when he said and I paraphrase, I don’t know but I’m trusting in God to find a place for me. Wherever I end up is what it is.

I have two MAJOR problems with that statement.

  1. How do you not have some sort of idea or vision for yourself and your upcoming future? (did I mention he’s a senior? In college?)

  2. Are you just gonna sit back and let God do all the leg work without expecting Him to leave something for you to do besides reap the benefits?

I’m sorry, I just don’t understand that. I have to admit, I highly admire these people’s faith and all, but to me it seems illogical to have someone do all the work for you. How are you gonna appreciate anything? I don’t know about others, but I don’t believe that God wants us do be lazy. I don’t think it works that way. I don’t think God is the whole”genie-three-wish” kind of God. The God I know works with humans. He helps them achieve the goals they wish to attain if He sees it is in their benefit.

IT’S FAITH AND WORK PEOPLE. FAITH AND WORK.  

Why are all these people trying to skip out on the second part? Faith without works is dead. D.E.A.D.  DEAD.

What’s that?

You want to know my line of logic? Well, I’ll gladly tell you. My logic is simple.

Have a goal.

To me, if you want to go anywhere in life you have to have a goal. You must have a destination. If not, what’s the point in leaving the place you are at now? So, you have this goal in mind and with it you begin to take action, initiative. You find resources that help you in the journey of reaching this goal and you work towards it.

critics-choice-jennifer-lawrence-gifs-17.gifI know at times it may get overwhelming and you may feel like nothing is working out in your favor, but don’t give up just yet. Do all that is humanly possible for you to do and then you sit back and let God do the rest. Since we are humans there is a limitation to how much things we can do, yet that shouldn’t stop us from doing all that we can do. That’s how I believe it should be done.

It’s a team effort. A group project. A collaboration.

Whatever you want to call it, just know that one person is never supposed to do all the work.

So,  which is it? Initiative or patience?

I say both but lean more towards initiative. While both have their place, I believe that taking active measures into creating a future for oneself is better than blindly waiting for something to happen.

Have patience but develop some initiative also.

I believe we should do all that we can do and when our hands are tied, then we wait. Well, I guess the whole point of this ramble was to get you to think about how much you can do with your life if you are more actively involved in your future. Besides, having a drive and purpose adds meaning to one’s life. 

And don’t you forget it! 😉

***GIFS FOUND ON GOOGLE IMAGES***

