“Success means doing the best we can with what we have. Success is the doing, not the getting; in the trying, not the triumph. Success is a personal standard, reaching for the highest that is within us, becoming all that we can be.”

-Zig Ziglar

Placeholder Image
Capture those little moments in your mind. Remember them. They too have a place in the grand scheme you call your life.

You know those moments in life when you realize your potential in a different aspect? Those moments when you capture yourself feeling pure bliss and ecstasy?

You sit down and suddenly everything in life seems to make sense. You’re a ticking bomb ready to explode happiness and talent on the world. I assume that everyone has had a moment like that in life and if you haven’t, trust me, you will soon if you keep pursuing it. Keep working toward your goal and it will happen.


I was privileged to experience those moments this year. I don’t know man, 2016-2017 has been a promising year for me. Weird, but good at the same time.

I was able to accomplish many things as I briefly mentioned in my post “New Year, New Me” and now I am discovering more things about myself and my capabilities.

15julenaallenstreetphotography-copy
Some people don’t have altogether but they are trying. That’s what matters.

I think for most of us, life is just a compilation of trail and error. We do something and realize that it’s not giving us the desired effect and do something else hoping it will end up differently. We are in search of something. Something that defines and completes us.

We wander through life aimlessly, watching the people we pass by on the street wondering if they are feeling the same way we are. We think that we aren’t making much progress in life when we see another rise to success and we are ready to give up. Yet, too many times we give up before that “thing” in which we have so desperately searched for reveals itself to us. We stare too hard at the incomplete bigger picture that we don’t recognize the importance of the smaller bits that make up the masterpiece.

I think that is the stumbling block that I kept tripping over for the longest time. I would watch other people in life do something that I thought was phenomenal, look back on my accomplishments and think it wasn’t good enough. That I had a long way to go and I would never be close to reaching the standard they were at. And soon, I began to think I wasn’t good enough. That anything I did, anything I accomplish wasn’t worth anyone’s time.  So eventually, I stopped.

I stopped looking at the bigger picture. I stopped trying new things and gaining experience. I stopped working on the old things and refining them to my taste…I stopped trying. 

It was the biggest mistake I ever made. 

Life lost its meaning for me then. I ended up throwing away some of the most valuable time in my childhood because of this irrational thought that I wasn’t good enough.

It wasn’t until I realized that in everything I did, I formed my destiny. It wasn’t until I looked closer at the bigger picture, to the intricate designs of the puzzle pieces and found their place in the grand scheme of things, that I found contentment in my life. It wasn’t until I began living to fulfill my daily goals and dreams, that my bigger picture began to take shape.

The trick wasn’t in finding the answer immediately but in the process. The process then helped me achieve my goal- to find my place in life; to find meaning in living.

With all that in mind…

I wanted to share with you some of the “little puzzle pieces” that helped me realize my potential.

I showed a few of these pictures before on my “Having a Little Fun (Photography Day)” post, and I wanted to show you all the “movie” I made out of it but unfortunately, that didn’t work out. SO, instead, I compiled what I think is some of the top photos I took for the assignment and placed them here. (Looks like I have a thing for portraits.)

These pictures helped me realize that my end goal is compromised of these little details. It’s moments like this when you look back at your work and recognize potential that you begin to see how you too can make something out of yourself.

The next time you are battling with self-worth or you’re asking yourself the question, “what am I going to do with my life?” look back at those moments you mentally or physically captured and remember how it made you feel. Remember the small steps you took towards finding your destiny and don’t give up. Continue walking and I guarantee that you will reach your desired destination.

Hope you enjoyed the photos and found a little meaning to your life along the way! 🙂

Until next time, 안 녕히 가세요!

