“Nothing worth having is ever easy.”

A friend and I were chatting on Facebook the other day when he told me something that, well, wasn’t really profound but important to keep in mind. He said, “Just improve every day.”

He went on to say, and I’ll paraphrase, that as long as you are trying and putting forth effort, you will achieve whatever it is you want to achieve. You can only become the best by never giving up. By being consistent.

Consistency.

What does that word mean to you?

To dictionary.com it means- “steadfast adherence to the same principles, course, form, etc”,  but to me it means patience.  To me it involves a lot of time, a lot of energy, and can be an excruciating long process depending on what you are attempting to achieve.

Consistency, to me, means hard work.

Now, don’t get me wrong. There’s nothing wrong with having to work hard, it’s just that at times, I may want faster results than what the word “consistency” entails. And that’s when things prove rough.

alexander_gustafsson_ufc_swedenRecently, I have been trying to challenge myself in a different aspect. I no longer want quick, easy results; I want long-lasting, worthwhile results.  Whether it be exercising to build muscle or lose weight, applying myself in my studies to get the knowledge I need to pursue the job of my dreams, or just looking for job of my dreams, I want to learn how to stay consistent in every aspect of my life. I’ve been thinking about this word a lot and the more I ruminate on it’s meaning to me, the more I find that consistency is the basis of every true success story.

Let me ask you a few rhetorical questions:

Has there ever been a moment in your life where you wanted something but didn’t exactly want to place in all the amount of energy required to achieve it so you gave up on it?  Have you seen something that you wanted to buy but you couldn’t afford it at the moment so you decided that it wasn’t worth it? Have you ever come something in your life that you thought was worth fighting for?

If you answered ‘yes’ to the first two questions and ‘no’ to the last one then I have some solemn news for you-

You’ve never truly achieve anything worthwhile .

You see, recently, as I pondered over my decisions in life and truly analyzed where I was and where I wanted to go, I realized that the only moments in my life were the moments where I had to dedicate my time, blood, sweat and tears to get. I realized that starting something and being consistent in doing it until the end is where beauty lies.

After all, in life, is it the process or the end result that matters most??

The beauty of consistency is that it makes an individual develop an attribute that is useful to every aspect of life.

Persistence.

If you aren’t going to continue what you started, then why start at all? Good things just don’t happen overnight.

Until next time,

 

****Pictures found on Google Images****

